Green Task Force Chair Kimberly Lake said today that the Westport Green Task Force is seeking nominations for the 2010 WeGreenWestport Awards.

“Since 2008, the Green Task Force has recognized the efforts of outstanding individuals, including youths, as well as businesses and other community organizations in the town who have demonstrated a commitment to protecting and improving the environment in a way that contributes to a long-term positive effect on the sustainability of Westport,” said Lake.

Nominations will be accepted through March 24. Nomination forms may be obtained online at,  from the Selectman’s office, or by  printing out our form (PDF) by clicking WeGreenWestport Award Nomination Form.   Completed forms should be emailed to or mailed to Kimberly Lake, Chair, Westport Green Task Force c/o Town of Westport, 110 Myrtle Avenue, Westport, CT 06880.

An online nomination form has also been created.  Complete the online form at 2010 WeGreenWestport Nomination Form.

The deadline for the receipt of submissions is 4 p.m. on Wednesday, March 24.  The Green Task Force will vote on the applications at its regularly scheduled meeting on April 7.

In 2008, the Green Task Force honored Kevin Green, resident and RTM Member, for his extraordinary green home renovation; Matthew Silver, then a student at Bedford Middle School, for his entrepreneurialism to raise money to plant trees at Bedford; Westport Wash and Wax for their inspirational solar installation to power their business; and Patagonia for their wonderful local support of green efforts throughout town and for their groundbreaking green business initiatives.

Last year, John Rountree, a leader and expert in solar designs and installation, A.J. Keiffer, President of Staples Green Club, and the Green Village Initiative founders Monique Bosch, Rebecca Howe, Sherry Jagerson, Dan Levinson, and Liz Milwe received the award.