The Green Earth Fair at Earthplace kicked off on April 25 with the presentation of the We Green Westport Award by the Westport Green Energy Task Force, which recognized individuals and businesses who have worked to inspire others to reduce their carbon footprint and help the environment. The 2009 honorees were: John Rountree, Staples student A.J. Kiefer, resident Rebecca Howe, and the Westport Green Village Initiative, represented by Dan Levinson, Liz Milwe, Sherry Jagersen and Monique Bosch.

The honorees were introduced by Kim Lake, chairman of the Westport Green Energy Task Force, and awards were presented by Westport First Selectman Gordon Joseloff. State Representative Toni Boucher was present as well to read a state proclamation honoring the Westport Green Village Initiative for all their efforts.